KAER 8-12 Gun Cabinet Review – FindsCheaper

KAER 8-12 Gun Cabinet Review: Roomy Rifle Storage, Worth It?

The KAER 8-12 Gun Cabinet is a large, floor-standing electronic cabinet that the seller positions for 8 to 12 long guns, with three adjustable racks, a door organizer and a small separately keyed compartment in the upper corner. It makes sense for a household with several rifles and shotguns that wants a roomy cabinet in a gloss black finish without moving into the price tier of heavy-gauge vault safes. It is a poor match if you need a published fire rating or an independent security certification, or if you expect the capacity number to hold for every rifle you own, because the listing itself gives two slightly different capacity ranges.

Bottom line:

  • Best for: families or hunters storing a mixed group of rifles and shotguns who want modular racks and a built-in lockable compartment.
  • Main strength: a roomy interior with removable partitions, plus keypad, key and emergency power box for access.
  • Main limit: the construction claims are the seller’s own, with no fire rating or certification, and the real rifle count will depend on your optics and stocks.

Quick specs table

Item What the listing says
Dimensions 15.2″ D x 21.1″ W x 57.1″ H
Weight 81.3 pounds
Lock type Electronic combination lock, with key
Capacity Seller bullets say 8 to 12 long guns; the description says 8 to 13, depending on size, optics and layout
Material Alloy steel; the seller states a 3 mm door and four 20 mm locking bolts
Special features Alarm system, mute function, removable shelf, door organizer
Mounting Floor mount, four expansion bolts included
Included Safe, emergency power box, two keys, four expansion bolts
Color Gloss black

Access and lock

The main lock is an electronic combination keypad that you can also open with a key. The seller adds that the lock has a mute function and an alarm function. Two keys and an emergency power box are included, which covers the two most common failure points of a battery-powered cabinet: a flat battery and a forgotten code.

The emergency power box is the part worth understanding before you need it. It is meant to supply power from outside if the internal cells run down. The listing does not state the battery type, how long a set lasts, or how the emergency box connects, so read the manual excerpt on the listing or the photos before you install it. Also decide where the two keys will live. A key left on top of the cabinet or in a nearby drawer reduces the keypad to a formality.

A second lock sits in the upper left corner: the seller describes a built-in compartment that is individually keyed, intended for valuables. This is a useful way to separate things that should not be reached with the same code, such as paperwork, ammunition storage or small items you do not want a guest with the main code to reach. Check the listing for whether this compartment has its own key supplied and how that key is organized with the two main keys.

The brand description on the page mentions biometric fingerprint locks for the KAER range in general, but this model is listed with an electronic combination lock. Do not expect a fingerprint reader on this unit.

Build and security features

The seller describes all-alloy-steel construction with a 3 mm thick door and four locking bolts measuring 20 mm, with anti-tamper and anti-pry features. The specification table also lists an alarm system. These are the manufacturer’s statements. The listing does not provide a fire rating, an independent pry-test result, a certification or a body gauge, so there is nothing to compare against a rated safe.

A 3 mm door is a specific number and a useful one, but it only describes one part. It tells you nothing about hinge construction, the strength of the body walls, or how the bolts seat into the frame. Treat this cabinet as a way to keep firearms away from children, casual visitors and opportunistic theft, not as protection against fire or a prepared intruder. If fire protection matters to you, you need a product that publishes a tested rating.

At 81.3 pounds, the weight is real but not huge for a cabinet this size, which is another reason to anchor it. Safe storage and child-access rules vary by state, so check the laws where you live.

Interior and fit

This is where the cabinet earns its place. The seller describes three adjustable gun racks, removable partitions, a removable shelf and a door organizer. The idea is a separate design where guns and accessories sit in different zones, with racks you can move up or down for different lengths.

The capacity needs care. The bullet text says up to 12 long guns and the product description says 8 to 13, depending on firearm size, optics and layout. These are not contradictory so much as a range that depends on you. Wide optics, thick stocks, pistol grips and bipods eat width quickly. With 21.1 inches of outer width, a realistic plan is to count your actual rifles instead of assuming the top number. Mock up the layout by measuring the width of each rifle at the scope and stock, then compare it against the 21.1 inch outer width minus the wall thickness.

The door organizer is a handy extra for small items, though it takes up depth when the door is shut. The listing does not give interior dimensions, so check whether your longest barrel clears the 57.1 inch outer height with the base and top accounted for. Short handguns can be stored with the accessories, but this is not a handgun-first design.

Mounting and placement

It is a floor mount cabinet, and four expansion bolts are included. The seller says you can also fix it to a wall. Anchoring a 57 inch tall cabinet is important, because a lightly loaded one can tip, which is a risk to children and an easy win for a thief who wants to drag it out. Concrete is the best surface for the supplied bolts. Over a wood floor or hollow wall, check what fasteners suit that surface.

Think about where you want to open the door. The cabinet is 21.1 inches wide, so give it room to swing, and consider that the rack height can be adjusted but the door will still need space. Garages and basements can be damp, and the listing does not mention moisture resistance for this model, so a dry room is the safer choice.

Power and batteries

The keypad is battery powered, with the emergency power box as the backup path. The listing does not name the battery type or life. A sensible habit is to replace the cells on a calendar schedule, keep spares elsewhere in the house, and run through the emergency power step once with the door open so that you are not learning it under stress. The mute function is a quiet benefit for a bedroom or hallway install, since keypad beeps are one of the things that make electronic cabinets annoying at night.

What owners say

No summary of owner feedback was available for this model at the time of writing, so we are not going to describe themes we cannot source. When you read the customer reviews, look for the following:

  • How many long guns buyers fit with optics mounted, and what rifles those were.
  • Whether the 3 mm door and locking bolts feel solid, and whether the door alignment is good after anchoring.
  • Delivery condition, since an 81 pound cabinet can arrive with dents.
  • Keypad programming, volume and how well the mute works.
  • How the separate keyed compartment performs and whether its keys are easy to confuse with the main keys.

Pros and cons

Strengths: a large modular interior, three adjustable racks, a door organizer, a separately keyed compartment, an emergency power box and included expansion bolts. Weaknesses: no fire rating or certification, a capacity claim that varies by source, a battery that is undocumented in the listing, and a need for a solid anchor point.

How it compares

Inside the same brand, the KAER Electronic Long Gun Safe is the smaller step down. The seller says it holds 3 to 5 rifles up to 53 inches long and describes 15-gauge steel with 0.8 inch locking bolts, and its footprint is much narrower. That gauge number is stated for the smaller model and not for this one, so do not assume the two share construction.

For more capacity and fingerprint entry, the KAER 13-16 Gun Biometric Safe lists 13 to 16 rifles, a biometric reader and a wall mount, in the same price band.

If your main need is a handgun, the cabinet is overkill. The Vaultek 20 Series Biometric is a compact box with a fingerprint reader and a backlit keypad, and the seller cites 16-gauge carbon steel. The Fort Knox PB1 Pistol Box is a 10-gauge steel pistol box with mechanical push-button entry and no batteries. Both are for one or two handguns, not a rifle collection. You can also start from our best gun safes overview.

Price and deals

At the time of writing the KAER 8-12 sat in the $200 to $300 range. Prices change, so check today’s price on Amazon. If you want to know whether any coupons are live, see our KAER 8-12 Gun Cabinet promo code page. The full list of models we cover is in the gun safe reviews A to Z.

Video

Watch: the channel Chris From The 740 posted a video about this model, which looks at whether it behaves like a real safe or a cabinet. Use it for a visual of the layout, and compare any claims with the listing.

Final verdict

The KAER 8-12 Gun Cabinet is a sensible fit for a household with a mixed collection that needs flexible racks and a separately keyed corner compartment, and the keypad, key and emergency power box give it a decent lockout plan. It is a cabinet and should be treated like one. The listing gives you a door thickness and bolt size but no fire rating, no certification and no independent testing, and the capacity depends on your optics. Measure your rifles, anchor it properly, keep the keys apart, and check your state’s storage rules. Skip it if you need rated protection.

KAER 8-12 Gun Cabinet FAQ

How many guns does the KAER 8-12 gun cabinet really hold?

The seller bullets say up to 12 long guns and the product description says 8 to 13, depending on firearm size, optics and layout. Scopes, thick stocks and bipods reduce the count, so measure your own rifles at the widest point before relying on the top number.

Does the KAER 8-12 have a fingerprint reader?

No. This model is listed with an electronic combination lock that also opens with a key. The brand description mentions fingerprint locks for the wider KAER range, but this cabinet’s specifications do not list one. If fingerprint entry matters, look at the 13-16 biometric model instead.

What power or backup does the KAER 8-12 cabinet use?

The keypad is battery powered and the box includes an emergency power box plus two keys. The listing does not state the battery type or life, so check the manual details before installing, keep spare cells elsewhere, and practice the emergency power step once.

How do you mount the KAER 8-12 gun cabinet?

It is a floor mount cabinet with four expansion bolts included, and the seller says it can also be fixed to a wall. At 57.1 inches tall it can tip when lightly loaded, so anchor it to a solid surface and confirm the fasteners suit your floor.

What is the small locked compartment in the KAER 8-12?

The seller describes a built-in cabinet in the upper left corner that is individually keyed, meant for valuables. It adds a second lock separate from the main keypad. Check the listing for how its key is supplied and store the keys apart from each other.

Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts