Best Gun Safe Brands of 2026: 14 Brands Compared by Need
The best gun safe brands for most shoppers on Amazon depend on what you store. For a single handgun at the bedside, SentrySafe and the newer biometric makers such as ONNAIS, BILLCONCH and TOPMEDA cover most needs. For battery-free quick access, Fort Knox, V-Line and StopBox USA build their boxes around mechanical locks. For travel, Hornady, Vaultek and Younion make lockable cases with cables. For long guns, Barska and Kodiak (a Rhino Metals line) are the two names in this list with rifle-sized cabinets and safes.
No brand is best at everything. Below we compare 14 brands sold on Amazon and name the one product from each to look at first, based on listings, manuals and seller details.
Key takeaway: Choose the lock type and size first, then the brand. Fort Knox and StopBox are the two brands here that describe US manufacturing on their listings; SentrySafe, Hornady, Fort Knox and Barska carry California DOJ certification on the specific models covered here. Avoid recalled biometric brands entirely.
Best gun safe brands at a glance
- Best mainstream biometric brand: SentrySafe, see our SentrySafe QAP2BLX review
- Best American-made steel pistol box: Fort Knox, see the Fort Knox PB1 Pistol Box review
- Best battery-free portable brand: StopBox USA, see our StopBox review
- Best weatherproof travel case: Vaultek, see the Vaultek LifePod 20 review
- Best for a car or carry-on lockbox: Hornady, see our Hornady Lockbox review
- Best budget fingerprint brand: ONNAIS, see the ONNAIS Iron Pro review
- Best app-connected option: BILLCONCH, see our BILLCONCH handgun safe review
- Best for mounting under a desk: RPNB, see the RPNB RP311F review
- Best large-capacity pistol safe: TOPMEDA, see our TOPMEDA large pistol safe review
- Best long-standing keypad brand: GunVault, see the GunVault MicroVault MV500 review
- Best mechanical top-opening box: V-Line, see our V-Line Top Draw review
- Best cheap key-lock box: Younion, see the Younion pistol safe review
- Best biometric rifle cabinet: Barska, see our Barska rifle safe review
- Best full-size safe brand: Kodiak, see the Kodiak KBX5629 review
Gun safe brands compared
| Brand | Product to look at | Lock/access | Best for | Origin stated on listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SentrySafe | QAP2BLX | Fingerprint, keypad, override key | Bedside, two handguns | Check listing |
| Fort Knox | PB1 Pistol Box | Simplex mechanical push-button | Battery-free home storage | Made in USA |
| StopBox USA | StopBox (Full-size) | Mechanical combination | Portable, no electronics | US manufacturing described |
| Vaultek | LifePod 20 | Keypad, two manual keys | Travel, outdoors, vehicle | Check listing |
| Hornady | Lockbox | Barrel key | Car, luggage, cable lock-down | Check listing |
| ONNAIS | Iron Pro | Fingerprint, keypad, backup key | Budget nightstand | Check listing |
| BILLCONCH | Biometric Handgun Safe | Fingerprint, PIN, app, key | App users, multiple users | Check listing |
| RPNB | RP311F | Fingerprint, keypad, key | Under-desk or side mounting | Check listing |
| TOPMEDA | Large Biometric Pistol Safe | Fingerprint, PIN, key | Several pistols plus magazines | Check listing |
| GunVault | MicroVault MV500 | Keypad, key | Slim briefcase-style storage | China |
| V-Line | Top Draw | Simplex five-button mechanical | Bolted top-opening box | Check listing |
| Younion | Portable Pistol Safe | Key | Lowest-cost travel box | Check listing |
| Barska | Biometric Rifle Safe | Fingerprint, backup keys | Up to four rifles | Check listing |
| Kodiak | KBX5629 | UL Listed electronic lock | Large long-gun collection | Check listing |
How we chose these brands
We did not rank brands on reputation alone. For each brand we picked the product that represents it best on Amazon and read the full listing, the specifications table, seller bullets and the product description, plus the manual where one is published. We compared lock types and their backups, steel gauge or shell material where it is stated, interior dimensions, mounting options, power source and emergency access. We also checked each brand against known biometric safe recalls and left recalled brands out. Where a listing does not state a fact, such as country of origin or steel thickness, we say so rather than guess. We have not handled these safes ourselves, so read this as a research comparison, not a lab report.
SentrySafe: The Mainstream Choice for Bedside Biometrics
SentrySafe’s quick-access handgun line is represented here by the QAP2BLX, which gives you three ways in: a fingerprint scanner, a digital keypad and an override key. A gas strut lifts the door quietly for one-handed access, and a blue interior LED helps at night.
The listing gives an interior of 14 x 6.5 x 2.2 inches, enough for two standard handguns or one larger pistol, and the safe weighs 16 pounds. It runs on four AA alkaline batteries, and the title mentions a bolt-down kit. It is California DOJ certified, which matters if you live there or simply want a model that has passed that standard. Read our full SentrySafe QAP2BLX review for fit details, or check the current price on Amazon; it sat in the $100 to $200 band when we wrote this.
Fort Knox: American-Made Steel and Mechanical Locks
Fort Knox suits buyers who want heavy steel and no electronics. The PB1 Original Pistol Box uses a 10-gauge steel body, a 3/16-inch wraparound tamper-resistant door and a reinforced lock backplate. That is thicker than the 16- and 20-gauge housings elsewhere in this list, and it weighs 22 pounds.
Access is through a Simplex mechanical push-button lock, so there are no batteries to fail and no fingerprint to re-enroll. A gas strut helps lift the heavy door. The listing says it is made in the USA with a limited lifetime warranty, and it is California DOJ certified. The trade-off is price: it sat in the $200 to $300 band at the time of writing, higher than most handgun safes here. Our Fort Knox PB1 review covers mounting and interior fit.
StopBox USA: Battery-Free Portable Access
StopBox takes a different approach. Its case is glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS and weighs about 1.8 pounds, and it opens with a patented mechanical combination system of user-set actuators. The brand pitches it as a way to avoid dead batteries, key jams and scanner failures, and you can choose from 81 combinations.
The full-size interior is 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 inches, and a compact version is also sold. StopBox says the case is not designed for wall mounting, but it is TSA compliant and accepts a padlock or security cable, which are sold separately. The brand page states it manufactures its products in the United States. This listing is a two-pack. Read our StopBox USA review for how the combination works.
Vaultek: Rugged Cases for Travel and Outdoors
Vaultek’s LifePod line covers weatherproof travel cases. The LifePod 20 is made of a non-metal polymer, opens with a backlit touch keypad or two backup keys, and uses side compression latches with a rubber gasket. Vaultek describes it as weather resistant, airtight, dustproof and able to float.
It holds a full-size handgun up to 9.25 inches long and has a removable tray, an interior LED and a lid organizer with an AirTag pocket. Power comes from a 9V battery that Vaultek rates for up to a year, with a hidden micro-USB port for emergency power. The listing gives two different interior measurements, so confirm the one that matches your pistol before buying. See our Vaultek LifePod 20 review.
Hornady: Simple Lock Boxes for the Car and Luggage
Hornady sells straightforward lock boxes for handguns and valuables. The listing for this lockbox describes the Alpha Elite version: a 16-gauge steel housing with a pry-resistant security band, a barrel key lock and a dual crossbar latch. It comes with a 1,500-lb rated steel lock-down cable for anchoring it to a seat frame or fixed object.
The extra-large size measures 10.25 x 8 x 2.75 inches outside and fits 1911-size pistols and 3-inch revolvers. Hornady says it meets California DOJ standards and TSA airline firearm guidelines, and it is described as certified child-resistant. Sizes vary across the line, so confirm the exact model on the listing. Our Hornady lockbox review goes deeper.
ONNAIS: Feature-Rich Fingerprint Safes on a Budget
ONNAIS focuses on low-cost biometric safes. The Iron Pro pairs a fingerprint scanner with a keypad and a backup key. A USB-C emergency power option means a dead battery does not lock you out if you can reach a power bank.
It holds up to two standard pistols in a padded interior and has a switchable interior light, so you can keep it dark for discretion. It includes a security cable and pre-drilled holes with four screws for wall or floor installation. The listing mentions a one-year warranty. It sat in the under $100 band at writing. See the ONNAIS Iron Pro review.
BILLCONCH: App Control and Multiple Users
BILLCONCH stands out for its phone app. This handgun safe offers four ways in: fingerprint, PIN, app and key. Through the app you can add or delete fingerprints, store up to 40, and view an unlock record by user ID, which is useful in a household where more than one adult has access.
The listing gives an interior of 10.62 x 5.84 x 2.55 inches, room for one large or two standard handguns, and the safe weighs about 6.2 pounds. It is carbon steel with a four-layer coating and includes a security cable, but its mounting type is listed as freestanding or tabletop, so check whether bolt holes are provided if you want it fixed down. Read our BILLCONCH review.
RPNB: Slim Mountable Designs
RPNB’s RP311F is one of the most-reviewed safes on Amazon. Its slim vertical shape that mounts under a desk or nightstand, on a shelf or in a vehicle. It can be mounted from the right, left or top side.
Access is by a 500 DPI semiconductor fingerprint sensor, an electronic keypad or a key, and RPNB claims a match speed under one second. It is alloy steel, about 7.7 pounds, with a corrosion-resistant black finish. It sat in the under $100 band at writing; check the RP311F listing for current pricing and our RPNB RP311F review for fit.
TOPMEDA: Larger Interiors for More Pistols
TOPMEDA focuses on roomier biometric pistol safes. The listing describes an interior of up to 12.5 x 10.5 inches, with room for one large handgun, two standard pistols or three small ones plus magazines. The padded interior is adjustable.
It opens by fingerprint, PIN or key, and the title lists 100 fingerprint slots. An LCD shows the time and battery level, it comes with AA batteries installed, and a USB-C port provides emergency power. It also has a silent mode and interior light. It includes a 3mm steel cable and mounting hardware. Owner feedback was not summarized for this model at writing, so read recent reviews yourself. See our TOPMEDA review.
GunVault: The Original Notebook-Style Keypad Safe
The GunVault MicroVault MV500 is a slim notebook-style keypad safe. The listing gives an exterior of 11 x 8.5 x 2.25 inches and an interior of 10.75 x 6.5 x 2 inches, so it fits in a briefcase or day pack.
It is 20-gauge steel and weighs about 4 pounds. The keypad uses learn buttons and supports more than 12 million user-set codes. A 9V battery is not included, and you must open it with the key first to install one. The listing states the country of origin is China. Read the GunVault MV500 review for interior fit.
V-Line: Mechanical Top-Opening Cases
V-Line is known for mechanical push-button handgun cases. The Tactical Top Draw opens from the top and uses a five-button Simplex lock that is easy to program and needs no batteries. Depending on their size, it can hold up to two pistols in a heavy foam interior.
The case has pre-drilled holes in the bottom so it can be bolted on top of a dresser, shelf or floor. The listing does not give full specifications such as steel gauge or exact dimensions, so check the seller’s details before buying. Our V-Line Top Draw review compares it with the Fort Knox.
Younion: Low-Cost Key Lock Boxes
Younion sells basic safes, and its portable pistol box is the cheapest product in this guide, sitting in the under $50 band when we checked. It is a 16-gauge steel key-lock box with two keys, a steel cable to tie it to a fixture, and removable foam layers.
At 9.69 x 6.5 x 1.81 inches and about 2.6 pounds, it slides under a car seat or into luggage. With a key lock it is slower to open than a keypad or Simplex, so it suits travel and storage, not fast bedside access. See the Younion portable safe review.
Barska: Biometric Rifle Cabinets
Barska is one of the few brands in this list with a fingerprint safe sized for long guns. Its biometric rifle safe holds up to four rifles, stores up to 120 fingerprints, has a silent mode and a removable shelf, and includes backup keys. It locks with a five-point steel locking mechanism.
It is California DOJ approved, and mounting hardware is included. The listing does not give full dimensions or steel gauge in this item’s specs, so measure your longest rifle with optics and confirm the interior height before ordering. It sat in the $300 to $500 band at writing. Read our Barska biometric rifle safe review.
Kodiak: Full-Size Safes From Rhino Metals
Kodiak is a Rhino Metals brand, and the KBX5629 is the only full-size safe here. It measures 56 x 29 x 22 inches and weighs about 390 pounds. It uses 14-gauge steel, a UL Listed electronic lock, a hardened armor plate and a spring-loaded relocker.
Kodiak claims 30 minutes of fire protection at 1400°F, with fireboard lining and an intumescent door seal. The 42-gun rating assumes tight packing; with scoped rifles, expect far fewer. External hinges let the door open 180 degrees, and a door organizer holds handguns. It sat above $1,000 at writing, with delivery and bolting to plan for. See our Kodiak KBX5629 review.
American-made gun safe brands: what the listings actually say
Searches for American-made gun safes are common, but country-of-origin claims vary in how clearly they are stated. In this group, Fort Knox says the PB1 is made in the USA, and StopBox says it manufactures its products in the United States. GunVault states the MV500 is made in China. For the rest, the listing we read does not state origin, which does not mean they are or are not made in the US. If origin matters to you, read the product’s “country of origin” field on Amazon or ask the seller before buying.
Handgun safe brands vs rifle safe brands
Most brands here specialize in handguns; for long guns the list shrinks to Barska and Kodiak. Our best handgun safes guide and rifle safe picks compare more models within each category, and what size gun safe you need walks through measuring.
Biometric brands and the recall you should know about
Awesafe, Bulldog (biometric models), Machir and MouTec biometric gun safes were recalled because the fingerprint reader could let unauthorized users, including children, open them, according to CPSC and Health Canada. We do not recommend those brands. Before buying any biometric safe, read our biometric gun safe recall guide and check cpsc.gov for the current model list. Our biometric gun safe guide and reliability explainer cover backups and enrollment tips.
Best gun safe brands for the money
- Under $50: Younion covers basic key-lock travel storage.
- Under $100: ONNAIS, BILLCONCH, TOPMEDA and RPNB compete on features. See gun safes under $100.
- $100 to $300: SentrySafe, Vaultek, GunVault and StopBox add brand support, certifications or specialized designs, and Fort Knox buys you thicker steel. See picks under $200.
- $300 and up: Barska for rifles and Kodiak for a full collection.
Prices move often, so check the current price on each listing before deciding.
How to choose between gun safe brands
- Pick the lock first. Biometric is fastest when it works; keypad and Simplex mechanical locks are predictable; key locks are slowest. Our biometric vs keypad comparison explains the trade-offs.
- Check the backup. Every electronic safe should have a key or emergency power port. Store the key away from the safe.
- Measure what you store. Compare your firearm’s length and height with the interior dimensions, not the exterior.
- Plan the anchor. A small safe that is not bolted or cabled down can be carried off. See how to bolt down a gun safe.
Storage and child-access laws vary by state; check yours.
Watch: Pew Pew Tactical’s overview of bedroom quick-access handgun safes is a useful primer on what to look for.
For the full picture across every category, start with our best gun safes guide, or browse every model in our gun safe reviews A to Z.
Best Gun Safe Brands FAQ
What are the best gun safe brands?
It depends on what you store. For bedside handguns, SentrySafe is the most familiar name, with budget options from ONNAIS, BILLCONCH and TOPMEDA. Fort Knox and V-Line suit buyers who want mechanical locks. Hornady, Vaultek and StopBox make good travel cases. For long guns, Barska and Kodiak offer rifle cabinets and full-size safes on Amazon. Pick the lock type and size first, then compare brands.
Which gun safe brands are made in the USA?
Among the brands in this guide, Fort Knox states the PB1 Pistol Box is made in the USA, and StopBox says it manufactures its products in the United States. GunVault lists China as the country of origin for the MV500. Other listings we reviewed do not state origin, so check the country of origin field on Amazon or ask the seller if this matters to you.
What is the best gun safe brand for the money?
For tight budgets, ONNAIS, BILLCONCH, TOPMEDA and RPNB offer fingerprint, keypad and key access in the under $100 range at the time of writing. Younion is cheaper still with a key lock. If you can spend more, Fort Knox’s thick steel and mechanical lock is a strong long-term buy. Prices change often, so check current prices before choosing.
What are the best biometric gun safe brands?
SentrySafe’s QAP2BLX combines fingerprint, keypad and override key access and is California DOJ certified. ONNAIS, BILLCONCH and TOPMEDA offer budget fingerprint safes with keypad and key backups, and Barska makes a biometric rifle safe. Avoid recalled brands such as Awesafe, Bulldog biometric models, Machir and MouTec, and check cpsc.gov before you buy any biometric safe.
Which brands make the best rifle or long gun safes?
In this Amazon lineup, Barska and Kodiak are the long-gun options. Barska’s biometric rifle safe holds up to four rifles with fingerprint access and backup keys. Kodiak’s KBX5629, from Rhino Metals, is a full-size safe with a UL Listed electronic lock and a fire-protection claim. Measure your longest rifle with optics before choosing either one.
What are the best small or pistol safe brands?
For small handgun safes, look at SentrySafe and RPNB for bedside or under-desk use, GunVault for a slim notebook-style keypad vault, and Fort Knox or V-Line for mechanical push-button boxes. For portable cases, Hornady, Vaultek, StopBox and Younion are worth comparing. Check the interior dimensions against your pistol, as small safes vary widely in usable space.
Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.















One Comment
Comments are closed.