Best Portable Gun Safes – FindsCheaper

Best Portable Gun Safes of 2026: Travel, Car and Lock Box Picks

If you want one portable gun safe that handles car trips, hotel rooms and checked luggage without fuss, start with the Vaultek LifePod 20. It is our best overall pick because it combines a backlit keypad, two backup keys, a steel security cable and a gasket-sealed polymer shell that the listing describes as weather resistant, dustproof and airtight. If you would rather avoid electronics entirely, the StopBox USA is the best battery-free choice, using a mechanical combination system with 81 user-set codes.

For the simplest and most traditional option, the Hornady Lockbox (the Alpha Elite in its X Large size) is the best key-lock pick: a 16-gauge steel box with a barrel key, a 1500 lb lock-down cable and a size that slides under a car seat. Below we compare all eight picks, explain how we chose them, and cover what actually matters when a safe has to travel with you.

Quick picks

Portable gun safe comparison table

Product Best for Lock/access Fits Mounting/cable
Vaultek LifePod 20 Travel in any weather Backlit keypad, 2 manual keys Full-size handgun up to 9.25 in long Steel security cable included
Hornady Lockbox Simple key access Barrel key 1911-size pistols, 3 in revolvers 1500 lb steel cable included
StopBox USA No batteries Mechanical combination (81 codes) Full-size interior 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 in Accepts padlock or cable (not included); not for wall mounting
Vaultek LifePod 20 Biometric Fingerprint access on the move Fingerprint, keypad, 2 manual keys Full-size handgun up to 9.25 in long Steel security cable included
Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID Fast touch-free entry RFID wristband, fob or sticker, barrel key Most 1911-size pistols, 4 in revolvers Security cable included
SentrySafe Digital Keypad Pistol Safe Two handguns Digital keypad, override key Two standard handguns or one larger pistol Bolt-down hardware; cable: check listing
V-Line Slide-Away Heavy steel, under-desk mounting Simplex mechanical lock Two 1911-type pistols or a tablet Quick release bracket (top or bottom); cable: check listing
Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard Bedside use that can move RFID, keypad, barrel key Most full-size handguns 1500 lb steel cable included

How we chose

We did not put these cases through a lab. Our research team compared the Amazon listings, seller descriptions and the published dimensions for each model, then checked how each one handles the three jobs a portable safe has to do: lock reliably, attach to something that does not move, and fit the handgun and the space you have in mind (a suitcase, a center console, under a seat, a desk drawer).

We favored models with at least one backup entry method, an included or supported security cable, and clear interior measurements. Where the listing left a gap, such as steel gauge, cable rating or exact interior size, we say so and tell you what to check. Owner feedback summaries were not available for these listings when we wrote this, so we have not reported owner themes. We also screened brands against recent recall notices; none of the brands below appears in the biometric safe recalls covered in our biometric gun safe recall guide.

1. Vaultek LifePod 20: Best Overall

The LifePod 20 earns the top spot because it is the most complete travel package on this list. Entry is by a touch-sensitive, LED-backlit keypad, and two manual keys come in the box as a backup. Locking is a press-and-hold on the lock pad, and Vaultek lets you enable an optional anti-picking feature that disables the front keyway, a useful setting if you rarely need the keys.

Its biggest difference from the steel boxes here is the shell. The listing describes advanced non-metal polymer construction, side compression latches and an inner rubber gasket, with claims of weather resistance, dustproofing, an airtight seal and flotation. That makes it a natural fit for boats, truck beds, camping and humid climates. The trade-off is that polymer is not steel, so the included steel cable matters: loop it around a seat bracket or other fixed point whenever you leave the case.

Inside, a removable tray creates two storage layers, with slots for EDC gear, plus a lid organizer with an AirTag pocket and an interior LED light. It stores a full-size handgun up to 9.25 inches long. Note that the listing gives two different interior measurements (9.625 x 7.25 x 2.125 in the bullets and 7.75 x 6 x 1.75 in the description), so measure your handgun and check the current listing. Power is a single 9V alkaline battery (not included) rated for up to a year under normal use, and a hidden micro-USB port can power it if the battery dies. At the time of writing it sat in the $100 to $200 range; check the current price on the LifePod 20 listing.

  • Pros: keypad plus two keys; gasketed, weather-resistant shell; two-layer interior with LED light; micro-USB emergency power; steel cable included
  • Cons: polymer rather than steel body; 9V battery not included; interior dimensions are listed inconsistently

Read our full Vaultek LifePod 20 review for more detail.

2. Hornady Lockbox: Best Key-Lock Box

The Hornady Lockbox (listed as the Alpha Elite Lock Box, X Large, item 98153) is the straightforward choice: no codes, no batteries, just a barrel key. To close it you press the lid down and turn the key; to open, turn the key the other way and lift. The housing is 16-gauge steel with a pry-resistant security band and a dual crossbar latch, and the listing describes it as certified child-resistant with hinge attack resistance.

At 10.25 x 8 x 2.75 inches outside, it is sized to fit a suitcase or slide under a car seat, and Hornady says it fits 1911-size pistols and 3 inch revolvers. A padded foam interior protects the contents. The included 1500 lb steel lock-down cable is the feature that makes it a real portable safe instead of just a box: anchor it to a seat frame or a fixed point in a hotel room.

The listing says it meets TSA airline firearm guidelines and California DOJ standards. The weakness of any key-only box is speed and key management. Keep the key somewhere you can reach it but others cannot, and do not leave it on the same ring as your car keys. Pricing varies on this listing, so check the current Hornady Lockbox price.

  • Pros: 16-gauge steel; no batteries; 1500 lb cable included; compact enough for luggage; CA DOJ standards per listing
  • Cons: key-only access is slower; keys can be lost; interior dimensions not stated

See our Hornady Lockbox review.

3. StopBox USA: Best Battery-Free

StopBox takes a different approach from every other pick. There are no batteries, no electronics and no keys: you open it with a mechanical combination, and you can choose from 81 user-set combinations. That removes the most common failure points of portable safes, such as dead batteries and keypad or scanner faults, which is why it suits a glovebox, a range bag or a nightstand that you do not want to maintain.

The shell is glass-reinforced polycarbonate-ABS, and the listing puts the weight at 1.8 pounds, making it the lightest option here. This listing is a two-pack of full-size boxes; the full-size interior measures 9.25 x 7.15 x 1.75 inches and includes a small built-in compartment. A compact size also exists on the brand’s broader line, so make sure you select the size you want.

What StopBox does not include is a cable. It is described as TSA compliant and compatible with padlocks or security cables, but those accessories are sold separately, and it is not designed for wall mounting. Budget for a cable if the box will live in a vehicle. At the time of writing the two-pack sat in the $100 to $200 range; see the StopBox listing for today’s price.

  • Pros: no batteries or electronics; 81 user-set combinations; very light; two boxes in this listing
  • Cons: polymer body; cable and padlock not included; not for wall mounting

Our StopBox USA review goes deeper.

4. Vaultek LifePod 20 Biometric: Best Biometric Portable

This is the LifePod 20 with a water-resistant fingerprint scanner added to the Smart Sense backlit keypad and the two backup keys. That gives you three ways in, which is the right structure for a biometric safe: if a wet or cold finger does not read, you still have the code and the key. The shell, gasket, latches, two-layer tray, LED light, 9V battery and micro-USB backup are the same as the standard model.

The main question is whether you need the scanner. If the case lives in a vehicle or a bag and you open it occasionally, the keypad model does the same job for less. If you want one-touch access, the biometric version makes sense. At the time of writing it sat in the $200 to $300 range, a full price tier above the standard LifePod 20, so check the current price before deciding.

Because it is a fingerprint safe, it is worth knowing that some other brands’ biometric safes have been recalled after their readers let unauthorized users open them. Vaultek is not among those brands, but read our recall explainer and our guide to biometric reliability before buying any fingerprint model.

  • Pros: fingerprint, keypad and key access; weather-resistant sealed case; same two-layer interior as the standard model
  • Cons: costs a tier more; 9V battery not included; polymer shell

See the LifePod 20 Biometric review.

5. Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID: Best Touch-Free RFID

The RAPiD Safe opens when you hold a programmed RFID tag near it: the box includes a wristband, a key fob and two stickers, and up to five tags can be programmed. The spring-assist lid pops open, and a conventional barrel key is the backup. Hornady positions RFID as faster than keypads, and it is certainly simpler under stress, since there is nothing to type or scan.

It is heavier-duty than most travel cases: the listing describes 14-gauge steel housing with two internal hardened locking lugs, and ASTM child-resistance and pry-resistance testing per the seller. Exterior size is 12.7 x 8.7 x 2.9 inches, with a 9 x 7.7 x 2.2 inch interior that fits most 1911-size pistols and 4 inch revolvers. A security cable is included, and the listing says it meets TSA requirements for checked luggage and is a CA DOJ approved firearms safety device.

Power comes from both AC and battery, which suits a home that the safe returns to between trips. Remember that anyone holding a programmed tag can open it, so treat the wristband and fob like keys. It sat in the $100 to $200 range when we wrote this; check the RAPiD Safe listing for the current price. If RFID appeals, our best RFID gun safes guide compares more options.

  • Pros: touch-free RFID with several tag styles; 14-gauge steel; spring-assist lid; cable included; CA DOJ per listing
  • Cons: tags must be guarded like keys; larger and heavier than polymer cases; battery type: check listing

Read our Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID review.

6. SentrySafe Digital Keypad Pistol Safe: Best for Two Handguns

The SentrySafe QAP2E is the roomiest pick, with a 14 x 6.5 x 2.2 inch interior that holds two standard handguns, or one larger pistol plus extra storage. A digital keypad handles everyday entry, an override key is the backup, and a gas strut opens the door quietly for one-handed access. It is California DOJ certified, and it comes with bolt-down hardware.

The trade-off is size and weight. At 16.4 x 9.8 x 3.2 inches and about 16 pounds, it is portable in the sense that you can move it from the bedroom to a vehicle, but it is not a suitcase case. It is the right pick if your portable safe is really a car or truck safe that you bolt down, or a bedside box you occasionally take on the road.

It runs on four AA batteries (not included), and SentrySafe recommends quality name-brand alkalines rather than generic or rechargeable cells. Steel thickness and cable inclusion are not stated, so check the listing if a cable matters. It was the only pick in the under $100 band at the time of writing; check today’s SentrySafe price. Our gun safes under $100 guide has more budget options.

  • Pros: room for two handguns; gas-strut door; bolt-down hardware; CA DOJ certified
  • Cons: about 16 pounds; four AA batteries required; cable not listed

See our SentrySafe Digital Keypad Pistol Safe review.

7. V-Line Slide-Away: Best Heavy-Steel Case

The V-Line Slide-Away is the toughest-built option here, made in the USA from 12-gauge steel with a black powder coat. Instead of a lid, it uses a large pullout drawer on Accuride ball-bearing slides, opened with a genuine Simplex mechanical lock, so there are no batteries or keys to manage. The drawer holds a tablet or two 1911-type pistols with room for extras, and pick-and-pluck foam lets you shape the interior.

It includes a quick release mounting bracket for top or bottom mounting, so it can sit under a desk or in a tight spot with about 4.25 inches of clearance. That bracket is what makes it portable: mount it in one place, and lift it out to move it. Exterior dimensions, weight and cable options are not given on the listing, so check before you plan around a specific space.

It is California DOJ approved per the listing. Pricing varies, so check the current V-Line price. If concealment matters most, compare it with our hidden gun safe picks.

  • Pros: 12-gauge steel; Simplex mechanical lock; smooth drawer; top or bottom mounting bracket; CA DOJ approved
  • Cons: exterior size and weight not listed; mechanical lock takes practice; cable not listed

Read the V-Line Slide-Away review.

8. Hornady RAPiD Safe Night Guard: Best Home-and-Bedside Portable

The Night Guard is a nightstand safe first, but it earns a spot because it ships with a 1500 lb steel lock-down cable and is light enough (13.8 pounds) to move between rooms or a vacation home. Entry is by RFID (four tags are included: a wristband, a key fob and two decals), an access code keypad and two barrel keys. A tempered glass front shows the reader, a clock and the keypad, and two USB-A ports charge your phone overnight.

The spring-assist drawer opens to a padded 2.2 x 9.2 x 6.9 inch interior that Hornady says fits most full-size handguns. Construction is 14-gauge steel with two hardened locking lugs, and it runs on AC with battery backup. Its upright shape (3 x 12 x 10.5 inches) is wrong for luggage or a car seat, so choose it only if bedside access is the priority. Price varies; check the Night Guard listing. For more bedside picks, see our nightstand gun safe guide.

  • Pros: RFID, keypad and key access; clock and USB charging; 14-gauge steel; 1500 lb cable included
  • Cons: not a travel shape; relies on AC with battery backup; heavier than travel cases

Our Night Guard review has the full breakdown.

How to choose a portable gun safe

Lock types for a safe that moves

Travel exposes every weakness of a lock. Batteries die in hot cars, fingers get wet, keys get packed in the wrong bag. A mechanical lock (StopBox, V-Line) removes battery risk entirely. A keypad with backup keys (LifePod 20, SentrySafe) is the most familiar. Biometric and RFID add speed but should always come with a code or key backup. If you are unsure, our biometric vs keypad comparison walks through the trade-offs.

Fit and capacity

Measure your handgun with any optic or light attached, then compare that length to the interior, not the exterior. Interior height is often the limit: most picks here are around 1.75 to 2.2 inches deep inside. If you are still deciding between a lockbox and something bigger, see what size gun safe you need or our small gun safe picks.

Cables and mounting

A portable safe is only as secure as what it is tied to. A cable is a deterrent against grab-and-go theft, not a guarantee, so loop it around a seat bracket or a fixed frame rather than a removable headrest. For a safe that stays in one vehicle, bolting it down is more secure; our bolt-down guide covers the basics, and our best car gun safe roundup focuses on vehicle installs.

Power and backups

Check the battery type before you buy and keep spares where you would actually find them. The LifePods use a 9V with a micro-USB emergency port, the SentrySafe takes four AA cells, and the RAPiD models use AC with battery backup. Store backup keys separately from the safe, never inside it.

Flying with a portable safe

Several picks are described as meeting TSA guidelines for checked luggage, but airline and TSA rules change and differ by carrier. Read the current TSA and airline policies before every trip.

Key takeaway: pick the lock you will trust when you are tired or stressed, confirm interior length and height against your handgun, and always anchor the case with a cable or bolts. Storage and child-access laws vary by state; check yours.

Watch: eXoc Tactical’s portable gun safe roundup gives a useful overview of the category before you choose.

Want a wider view? Our complete gun safe buying guide covers home safes too, and the best handgun safe guide covers larger pistol boxes.

Best Portable Gun Safe FAQ

What is the best portable gun safe for a car?

For most drivers the Vaultek LifePod 20 is the easiest fit: it has a keypad, backup keys, a sealed weather-resistant shell and a steel cable to anchor it to a seat bracket. If the safe will stay in one vehicle, a bolt-down option like the SentrySafe keypad model is more secure. Whatever you choose, attach it to a fixed point and check your state’s vehicle storage rules.

Are portable gun safes TSA approved?

TSA does not certify or approve specific safes. Several picks here, including the Hornady Lockbox, RAPiD Safe and StopBox, are described by their sellers as meeting TSA guidelines for transporting a handgun in checked luggage. Rules can change and airlines add their own policies, so read the current TSA and airline guidance before every trip and declare as required.

What is the best portable biometric gun safe?

Among our picks, the Vaultek LifePod 20 Biometric is the portable fingerprint option. It pairs a water-resistant scanner with a backlit keypad and two manual keys, so you are not locked out if a read fails. Before buying any fingerprint safe, check our recall guide, since some other brands’ biometric safes were recalled for letting unauthorized users open them.

Is a gun lock box secure enough for home storage?

A lock box is a reasonable home option for a single handgun when it is cabled or bolted to something solid and the key or code is controlled. It deters children and casual theft but will not stop a determined thief with tools. For long-term home storage of several firearms, a larger anchored safe is usually a better fit.

Do portable gun safes need batteries?

It depends on the lock. Keypad, fingerprint and RFID models need power: the LifePods use a 9V battery, the SentrySafe uses four AA cells and the RAPiD models use AC with battery backup. Mechanical options such as the StopBox and V-Line Slide-Away and key-only boxes like the Hornady Lockbox need no batteries at all.

What size portable gun safe do I need?

Measure your handgun’s length and height with any light or optic attached and compare it to the interior dimensions, not the exterior. Many travel cases are only about 1.75 to 2.2 inches tall inside. The LifePod 20 fits handguns up to 9.25 inches long, while the SentrySafe keypad model offers room for two standard handguns.

Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts