Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault Review: RFID, Code and Key
The Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault takes the brand’s quick-access idea and gives you three ways in: an RFID tag, a programmable code or a mechanical key. It is aimed at people who want a steel handgun and valuables box beside the bed, on a shelf or in a drawer, and who are willing to bolt it down. Based on the listing, it makes the most sense for a household that wants speed plus a manual fallback. It is less convincing if you need something light to carry around or a unit with published fire protection.
Bottom line:
- Buy it for a steel, bolt-down bedside or shelf box with RFID, code and key entry.
- Skip it if you want a travel case, a fire-rated safe or a very large interior.
- The listing does not state the power source, so confirm it in the manual or Q&A before ordering.
This review draws on the Amazon listing, the seller’s bullets and general safe-storage knowledge. We have not handled the unit ourselves, so nothing here is a lab result. When the listing leaves a detail out, we say what to verify.
Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault specs
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Model | Item 97436 |
| Exterior size | 13.1 x 11.0 x 3.9 inches |
| Interior size | 10.6 x 7.8 x 3.3 inches |
| Weight | 15 pounds (also shown as capacity on the spec table) |
| Material | Alloy steel, 14-gauge body per the seller |
| Access | RFID, user-programmed code, mechanical key |
| Mounting | Freestanding or tabletop; predrilled for bolting |
| Water resistance | Not water resistant |
| Included | RFID watchband tag, RFID adhesive decal, two circular barrel keys |
Access and lock
The selling point is the trio of entry methods. The seller describes an RFID reader, a user-programmed access code and a mechanical key, and says they can be selectively programmed, including with other Hornady safes you may own. That layered approach is useful because each method covers the weakness of another.
- RFID: touch-free opening with the watchband tag or the adhesive decal. This is the quick option, and the decal can be stuck to a phone case, a wallet or a keychain item you carry anyway. The listing title mentions two included tags, while the seller bullet lists one watchband tag and one decal, which together make two.
- Code: a programmed entry for when your tag is across the room, or for another adult in the home who does not wear one.
- Key: two circular barrel keys are included. This is the backup if the electronics fail or the power source runs out.
The practical advice is to keep one barrel key somewhere separate and secure, not in the same drawer as the box. Program your code with the lid open and test every method a few times before storing anything inside.
Build and security features
The seller states that the body is 14-gauge steel with a thick steel lid and calls it tamper proof. That is a marketing term rather than a rating, and we treat it as the seller’s description. Steel construction does separate this model from polymer lockboxes, which are lighter but give up pry resistance. The seller also says Hornady’s RAPiD line exceeds ASTM International standards for child and pry resistance, lock strength and drop, pick and saw tests. That is a brand claim attributed on the listing; if a specific certification matters to you, look for the documentation on the brand site and the manual.
The listing does not publish a fire rating, and the spec table lists the safe as not water resistant. That tells you what this box is: theft and access control for everyday storage, not protection from house fires or floods. If those risks matter, document storage in a separate rated container is a better plan than counting on this one. The state-level child-access and storage rules vary, so check the laws where you live.
Interior and fit
The interior is listed at 10.6 x 7.8 x 3.3 inches. The 3.3 inch height is the most useful number: it is roomier vertically than slim travel lockboxes, which tend to stop around 1.75 to 2 inches. The seller says it fits most full-size handguns and valuables. Treat that as a starting point, and measure your own handgun, including any optic, light or extended magazine, against all three interior dimensions.
Because the box holds valuables as well, think about how you will use the space. A handgun, a spare item of identification and a small set of keys can coexist in a box this size, but a crowded interior can make a quick grab slower. We would recommend leaving the main item unobstructed. The listing does not describe interior foam, a lining or a removable shelf, so check the photos if padding matters to you.
Weight is about 15 pounds, so it is heavy enough to feel solid on a shelf but still movable. That is also why the bolt-down option matters: without anchoring, a 15 pound box can be carried off by a determined intruder.
Mounting and placement
The seller says the safe has a predrilled housing and tells you to bolt it to a secure structure with appropriate fasteners. The spec table lists freestanding and tabletop mounting. Both are options, but anchoring is the version that makes a real difference in security. Typical choices are a shelf, a closet floor, a cabinet or the inside of a nightstand, using hardware suited to the surface you are attaching to. The box is not supplied with mounting hardware according to the listing details we have, so plan to buy appropriate bolts or screws.
Exterior dimensions of 13.1 x 11.0 x 3.9 inches mean it needs a fairly deep shelf or a wide drawer. Check the clearance for the lid to open, since a spring or hinge lid needs headroom, and decide which orientation works with your furniture. If space is tight, our best small gun safes guide lists more compact options.
Power and batteries
This is the main gap in the listing. The RFID reader and keypad are electronic, which means some power source is involved, but the data we have does not say whether it uses batteries, how many, or whether it can run from an adapter. We will not guess. Before ordering, look in the product manual, the Q&A section and the images on the page for the power details, and plan a regular reminder to test the electronics.
The included mechanical keys are what keep this from being a single point of failure. If the electronics ever stop responding, the key still opens the lid. That is why we suggest keeping the keys easy for you to reach in an emergency but out of reach of children.
What owners say
The listing data we had did not include a summary of owner feedback, and the listing describes the product as having few reviews so far. Because of that, we are not going to claim what owners think. A small review pool also means any single complaint can swing the impression, so read recent comments carefully rather than relying on a headline score.
When you read through the customer feedback, look for these topics:
- How consistently the RFID tag opens the lid on the first try, and how quickly.
- Whether the keypad is easy to program and whether the code is easy to change.
- Whether the lid springs open smoothly and the latch feels firm.
- How the unit fits specific handgun models with lights or optics.
- What power source owners say it uses, and how often it needs attention.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Three entry methods: RFID, code and mechanical key.
- Steel construction with a thick steel lid, per the seller.
- Predrilled for bolting to a secure structure.
- Interior height of 3.3 inches accommodates more than slim lockboxes.
- Includes a watchband tag, an adhesive decal and two keys.
Cons
- The listing does not state the power source.
- No fire rating, and the spec table says it is not water resistant.
- Mounting hardware does not appear to be included.
- Few reviews so far, so there is less owner evidence to lean on.
How it compares
The nearest sibling is the Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID review. It uses RFID and a key, with a spring-assist lid, wristband, fob and stickers, and the listing mentions a wall power supply. The Keypad Vault adds the programmed code as a third path and has more interior height, while the RFID model is a flatter, nightstand-style box. If you only want RFID and key access, it could be the simpler choice, and it is also worth reading our best RFID gun safes guide.
For a lighter, portable option, the Vaultek LifePod 20 has a backlit keypad, backup keys, a removable tray and a lid organizer, in a non-metal body. It suits travel and vehicles better, but it is not designed to be bolted in like the Hornady. For battery-free simplicity, see the StopBox USA review, a mechanical code lockbox with a much slimmer interior.
If you want fingerprint access at a lower price, the RPNB RP311F review covers a slim vertical biometric box that mounts under a desk or nightstand. It is a different style of lock and a different shape. For more choices, browse our best quick access gun safes, best handgun safes and the best gun safe pillar.
Price and deals
At the time of writing, this listing sat in the $100 to $200 range. Prices move with sales and stock, so check today’s price on the Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault Amazon page before you decide. We did not find a public promo code; our Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault promo code page covers the realistic ways to save, such as seasonal sales and price tracking. The broader gun safe promo codes page lists the rest, and our best gun safes under $200 guide shows where this model sits in the tier.
Watch: the Martial Arts Militia channel has a video titled as an unsponsored review of this model.
Final verdict
The Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault is a solid, steel-bodied choice for someone who wants fast RFID access without giving up a code and a key. Its main strengths are the three-way access, the 3.3 inch interior height and the ability to bolt it down. The open questions are the power source and the lack of any published fire protection, both of which you should confirm on the listing and in the manual. If those fit your plans, it is a reasonable bedside or shelf box. If you travel with your safe or need fire protection, look elsewhere.
Whatever you choose, remember that storage and child-access laws vary by state, so check yours. For more side-by-side options, our gun safe reviews A to Z hub lists every review in one place.
Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault FAQ
How do you open the Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault?
The seller lists three methods: an RFID tag (a watchband tag and an adhesive decal are included), a user-programmed access code, and a mechanical key. Two circular barrel keys come in the box, so the key is your backup if the electronics stop responding.
What fits inside the Keypad Vault?
The listing gives an interior of 10.6 x 7.8 x 3.3 inches and says it fits most full-size handguns and valuables. Measure your handgun with any light, optic or extended magazine against those dimensions before ordering.
Can the Keypad Vault be bolted down?
Yes. The seller describes a predrilled housing and says to bolt it to a secure structure with appropriate fasteners. Mounting hardware does not appear to be included, so choose fasteners suited to your shelf, cabinet or floor.
What powers the keypad and RFID reader?
The listing we reviewed does not state the power source. Check the product manual, the images and the Q&A on the Amazon page before ordering, and test the electronics regularly. The mechanical key remains the fallback.
Is it fire rated or waterproof?
No fire rating is listed, and the spec table says it is not water resistant. Treat it as access control and theft deterrence for everyday storage, and keep important documents in a separately rated container if fire or flood is a concern.
Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

