BBRKIN Slide-Away Safe Review – FindsCheaper

BBRKIN Slide-Away Biometric Safe Review: Quick-Open Drawer Safe

The BBRKIN Slide-Away Biometric Safe is a drawer-style handgun box with a door that opens automatically once you authenticate. Access comes from a fingerprint scanner, a backlit keypad or a spare key. It is aimed at someone who wants a bedside, desk or vehicle spot for a couple of pistols and who values a fast, one-motion opening. It is less suited to buyers who need documented fire protection, a large interior or a heavy-gauge bolt-down cabinet. This review is based on the Amazon listing, the seller’s feature list and general safe-storage knowledge; we have not handled the unit.

Bottom line:

  • Good fit: a slide-open drawer box for two handguns, or one handgun plus magazines.
  • Check first: how the unit is powered, and whether your handgun clears a 2.8-inch interior height.
  • Skip it if: you need a fire rating, a deep interior, or ready-made mounting hardware.

At the time of writing it sat in the $100 to $200 range. Prices change, so check today’s price on Amazon before you commit. For a wider view of the category, our best gun safes page compares several storage styles.

Specs at a glance

Spec What the listing says
Exterior size 11.2″ deep x 13.5″ wide x 3.7″ high
Interior size 11.4″ wide x 7.8″ deep x 2.8″ high, per the seller’s bullet points
Capacity 0.15 cubic feet; seller says two handguns, or one handgun plus magazines
Lock type Biometric, plus backlit keypad and spare key
Material Alloy steel, with a powder-coat finish per the seller
Placement Freestanding or tabletop
In the box Key (check the listing for other items)

Access and lock

There are three ways to open this safe: a fingerprint scan, a PIN on the backlit keypad, and a spare key. The seller says the unit can store up to 20 fingerprints, which is enough for a household where several adults need access, though the listing does not explain how enrollment works for each user. The seller also says the scanner opens the door in about a second, and that the door opens automatically once access is granted.

The keypad is the first fallback. A backlit pad is helpful in a dark bedroom, and the listing adds a silent mode so keypresses do not beep. A wrong-access alarm is described in the product description: after three wrong attempts the safe beeps and will not accept a PIN or fingerprint for a period. That is a sensible guard against someone guessing codes, but it also means you should not let a child or guest tap at the pad, since a lockout is the last thing you want during a stressful moment.

The key is the last layer. Keep it somewhere that is safe from children and from burglars but still reachable to you, such as on a keyring that stays on your person. Many people forget the key until the day they need it, so test it once after setup. Fingerprint readers are convenient but not magical, and damp, dirty or cold fingers can cause misreads, which is exactly why a code and a key sit behind the sensor.

Build and security features

The seller describes reinforced solid steel walls, internal hinges, an extra internal safety bracket, a pry-resistant door and a dual-layer steel housing. The spec sheet lists alloy steel with a powder-coat finish. These are the manufacturer’s claims. The facts we have include no steel gauge, no lock-bolt details and no independent security rating, so treat the build as that of a quick-access safe designed to keep out children and casual intruders, not as a rated break-in or fire product.

Internal hinges are a genuine design point, because exposed hinges are a common weak spot on small boxes. A powder-coat finish helps against scratches and moisture over time, though it will not matter if the box sees heavy abuse in a vehicle. The door mechanism is also a place where quality matters: an automatic slide-open action is convenient but has more moving parts than a simple hinged lid, so read owner comments on how smoothly it behaves over time.

The listing also mentions an interior LED light, which helps you see the contents in a dark room. Combined with the backlit keypad, the overall design reads as bedside-friendly.

Interior and fit

The interior figures are the most important numbers on the page. At 11.4 inches wide, 7.8 inches deep and only 2.8 inches high, the cavity is long and low. The width is generous enough for most full-size handguns laid flat. The height is the limiting factor: anything taller than 2.8 inches, including a handgun with an optic, a weapon light or an extended magazine, will not clear. Measure your own handgun at its tallest point and add some margin for the padding.

The seller says the interior holds two handguns, or one handgun with a few magazines, and the description mentions thick foam padding. Foam protects finishes but reduces usable room, so the real working height may be a little less than the stated number. Documents and small valuables can share the space only if they fit around the handguns.

If your carry or nightstand handgun is a compact model, this layout is easy to work with. If you own a larger frame with accessories, compare against the listing photos and consider whether a different shape of box makes more sense.

Mounting and placement

The listing marks this as a freestanding or tabletop box, and the included components list only a key. No mounting hardware, cable or screws are named in the facts we have, so do not assume any are in the box. That matters because a safe sitting loose in a drawer can be carried out whole. If you plan to keep it in a drawer or cabinet, look for a way to secure it, such as screws through the base into a solid surface if the manual permits, or a separate cable you buy yourself.

The listing’s tags also mention vehicle use and drawer placement. For a vehicle, the same warning applies twice: keep the box out of sight and anchored to something fixed, and remember that a hot closed car is a tough environment for electronics. The product facts do not give an operating temperature range, so check the manual for one.

On the legal side, laws vary by state, so check yours for storage and child-access-prevention rules, and for rules on transporting firearms in a vehicle.

Power and batteries

The facts we have do not say how this unit is powered. It has a keypad, a scanner, a light and an automatic door, so it needs some source of electricity, but whether that is replaceable batteries, a rechargeable pack or an adapter is not specified in what we have, and no power accessories are listed in the included components. Before you buy, check the Amazon page, the Q&A section and the manual for the power type, expected battery life and the low-battery warning.

Whatever the answer is, plan for failure. Know where the spare batteries are, verify that the key opens the door and ask yourself what happens during a power loss. A motorized door that depends on electricity may behave differently when the power is weak than a simple latch would, so confirm in the manual whether the key bypasses the motor and how to open the door manually.

What owners say

No owner feedback summary was available for this model when we wrote this review, so we will not describe common praise or complaints. To judge it yourself, scan the Amazon reviews for comments on fingerprint reliability, door speed and noise, how the slide-open mechanism behaves after months of use, and whether people with taller handguns report clearance problems. Look for any mention of battery life or charging, and for how the seller handles replacements. A pattern across several recent reviews tells you more than any single comment.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Three ways in: fingerprint, backlit keypad and spare key.
  • Automatic opening door for a quick, one-handed reach.
  • Interior LED light and silent mode for nighttime use.
  • Seller states room for up to 20 fingerprints.
  • Wrong-access alarm described in the product text.

Cons

  • Interior is only 2.8 inches high, so taller handguns and accessories may not fit.
  • Only a key is listed in the box, with no stated mounting hardware.
  • Power type and battery life are not stated in our facts.
  • No fire rating or independent security certification is listed.

How it compares

If portability and weather resistance matter more than a drawer-style door, the Vaultek LifePod 20 is a lighter polymer case with a keypad and a backup key, plus a removable tray. Our Vaultek LifePod 20 review covers the details.

Hornady’s RFID designs open with a wristband, key fob or sticker rather than a fingerprint, and the Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID review looks at the touch-free model with a spring-assisted lid. For something with a keypad, an RFID reader and a thick steel lid, read the Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault review.

If you distrust electronics altogether, the StopBox USA is a mechanical, battery-free box with user-set combinations. Our StopBox USA review explains the trade-offs. You can also browse the whole gun safe reviews A to Z list.

Price and deals

At the time of writing the listing sat in the $100 to $200 range. That band can move with coupons, sales and stock, so always check today’s price. We explain how clip coupons and sale seasons work on the BBRKIN Slide-Away Biometric Safe promo code page. When you are ready, you can check the current price on Amazon.

Final verdict

This is a convenience-first handgun box: three ways in, an automatic door and a lit interior designed for quick access at night. The weak spots are the low interior height, the lack of stated mounting hardware, the unknown power type and the absence of any listed rating. If your handgun is low-profile and you plan to secure the box properly, it is a reasonable option in its price range. If you need more depth, a rating or a simpler mechanism, compare it with the alternatives above or return to our best gun safe guide.

BBRKIN Slide-Away Biometric Safe FAQ

Will a full-size handgun fit in the BBRKIN Slide-Away Biometric Safe?

The seller gives interior dimensions of 11.4 inches wide, 7.8 inches deep and 2.8 inches high. Width is generous, but height is limited. Measure your handgun at its tallest point, including any optic, light or extended magazine, and leave a little margin for the foam padding.

How is the BBRKIN safe powered?

The facts we have do not state the power source, and no power accessories are listed in the included components. Check the Amazon page, Q&A and manual for the battery type, expected life and low-battery warning, and confirm that the spare key opens the safe if power runs low.

Can I mount the BBRKIN Slide-Away safe in a drawer?

The listing says freestanding or tabletop and names only a key in the box, with no mounting hardware. If you want it fixed in place, read the manual for approved methods and consider whether a cable or fasteners are needed so the box cannot be carried off.

What if the fingerprint reader does not recognize me?

There are two backups: a PIN on the backlit keypad and a spare key. The product description also says the safe beeps and blocks access after three wrong attempts, so avoid repeated guessing. Store the key where you can reach it but children cannot.

How many fingerprints can the BBRKIN safe store?

The seller says it can hold up to 20 fingerprints. The listing does not explain how those are divided among users, so check the manual for enrollment steps before you plan for a shared household, and re-enroll prints if readings become unreliable.

Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts