BBRKIN 5-6 Gun Rifle Safe Review: Keypad Cabinet for Scoped Rifles
The BBRKIN 5-6 Gun Rifle Safe is a tall, narrow keypad cabinet aimed at people who want a handful of long guns stored upright behind a PIN code instead of leaning in a closet corner. If you need an affordable upright cabinet with a small lock box tucked inside, it deserves a look. If you want a documented fire rating, a heavy-gauge body with published steel specs, or a big floor safe, the listing does not give you enough to justify this one on paper.
Bottom line:
- Good fit for a mid-sized household that wants quick PIN access to rifles or shotguns up to 50 inches, scoped or not.
- Check the listing for steel thickness, battery type and fire protection before buying, because none of those are stated in the facts we reviewed.
- Treat it as a keep-it-away-from-kids and keep-honest-people-out cabinet, and bolt it down.
Below is a plain walk-through based on the listing, the seller bullets and the dimensions shown, plus how upright long-gun cabinets generally work. Amazon showed no owner-feedback summary for this model when we checked, so the owner section later on tells you what to look for instead of repeating themes we cannot support. You can see the current listing on Amazon and compare it with others in our best gun cabinets guide.
Specs at a glance
| Item | What the listing shows |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 5-6 rifles or shotguns, up to 50 inches, with or without scopes |
| Exterior size | 13″ deep x 14″ wide x 57″ high |
| Material | Carbon steel |
| Color | Black |
| Lock | Electronic keypad (PIN code version) with backup key |
| Extras | Separate interior lock box, removable shelf, silent mode, wrong-access alarm |
| Mounting | 3 pre-punched holes in the back, 2 in the bottom, bolts attached |
| Fire rating, steel gauge, battery type | Not stated in the facts reviewed, check the listing |
Access and lock
This version is the PIN code model, as the title says. You create your own code on the electronic keypad, and the seller also describes a backup key as the second way in. That pairing is sensible for a cabinet people open at night: the keypad gives you speed, and the key means a dead or misbehaving keypad does not lock you out of your own storage. The listing does not say how many digits the code can be or how many keys are supplied, so confirm both on the page before you count on a spare for a trusted adult.
The security behavior the seller highlights is a wrong-access alarm. After three wrong entries the safe beeps and will not accept a PIN code for a period, which is a useful brake on a curious child guessing numbers. The listing does not state how long the lockout lasts, so we will not guess. There is also a silent mode that turns off the beeps, handy if the cabinet sits in a bedroom or hallway where you do not want every keypress announced. Keep the key somewhere separate from the cabinet, not on top of it and not in the same drawer as the code written on paper.
One thing worth saying plainly: keypad cabinets like this are about preventing casual access. The seller describes the lock mechanism as reliable, but the listing offers no certification or test standard behind that wording, so think of it as access control rather than theft-proof protection. If you want a deeper comparison of lock styles, our best gun safes pillar page covers the trade-offs.
Build and security features
The material is listed as carbon steel, in black. That is as far as the facts go. No gauge, door thickness, hinge design or bolt count is given, so a shopper cannot tell from the page how much force the body can take. Cabinets in this category are generally lighter-built than true floor safes, and a determined thief with tools should be expected to get through one. That is not a knock unique to this model; it is simply the category. What the cabinet does well, on paper, is keep a household’s long guns out of sight and out of reach of children and visitors.
The seller also mentions a “smart technology” approach to keeping contents from kids and others, but that phrase is marketing language rather than a spec. We read it as the keypad plus the alarm and nothing more. Do not assume app features, tamper sensors or sensors beyond what is listed.
Interior and fit
Interior fit is where this cabinet makes its pitch. The seller says it is deeper than safes that are only 11 inches deep and cannot take scoped rifles, and it states it handles rifles and shotguns up to 50 inches, with or without scopes. At 57 inches tall on the outside, a 50-inch long gun leaves little spare height inside, so measure your longest firearm including any muzzle device, and remember a scope adds depth, not height. The 13-inch outer depth is the number to compare against a mounted optic and its rings.
Inside there is a separate lock box for small items and a removable shelf. The listing positions the lock box for small guns and other valuables such as documents. We do not have its interior measurements, so if you plan to put a compact handgun in it, look for those numbers on the page or ask the seller before you buy. The five-to-six rifle count is a best case for slim, similarly sized guns; mixed shotguns, wide stocks and optics will usually reduce what actually fits, so plan for the lower end if your collection is bulky.
If you only need pistol storage, this is the wrong tool. The best hidden gun safes guide covers small concealed options, and a nightstand-style model such as the Vaultek DS2e is built for that job.
Mounting and placement
The seller lists three pre-punched holes in the back and two in the bottom, with bolts attached, so it can be fastened to a wall, a floor or both. For a tall, narrow cabinet this matters a great deal. A 57-inch cabinet loaded with long guns is top-heavy, and anchoring is both a theft deterrent and a tipping-prevention step in homes with children. Use fasteners suited to your wall or slab, find studs or masonry, and do not rely on the included bolts alone if you are mounting into thin drywall. On carpet, a floor mount into a subfloor is better than into padding.
The seller’s installation promise is that you can attach it wherever you want, which is true to the extent that you have a solid anchor point. Place it where you can open the door fully, since a rifle cabinet needs clearance to remove long guns without swinging the barrel into a wall or doorway.
Power and batteries
Electronic keypads run on batteries, but the listing facts we reviewed do not name the type, the count or the expected life. Before you buy, look for the battery detail in the product information or manual, and plan to keep a fresh set on hand. Test the keypad on a schedule, for instance when you change smoke detector batteries, and remember the backup key is your fallback. A silent mode can sound convenient, but make sure it does not also hide a low-battery warning, if the manual describes one.
What owners say
No owner-feedback summary was available for this model when we wrote this, and there were no recorded themes to draw from, so we are not going to invent any. Instead, here is what to look for in the customer questions and written reviews on the listing:
- How the keypad behaves after the batteries age, and whether the key works smoothly.
- Whether the door hangs square and the latch engages cleanly after assembly or mounting.
- How owners describe the interior depth with scoped rifles, and whether the shelf and lock box are practical.
- Any comments on packaging damage on arrival. The seller says it will replace or offer a solution within 24 hours for scratches, damage or malfunction, so check how owners say that process actually went.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Deeper than the 11-inch cabinets the seller compares it against, with scoped rifles in mind.
- Fits guns up to 50 inches according to the listing.
- Quick PIN access with a backup key.
- Built-in lock box for small valuables or a compact firearm.
- Five pre-punched holes for wall and floor anchoring.
Cons
- No fire rating or steel gauge in the facts reviewed.
- Battery type and life are not stated.
- Lock box interior dimensions are not given.
- No owner-feedback summary was available to confirm real-world reliability.
How it compares
This is a long-gun cabinet, so most of the alternatives we track are different kinds of products. Use them to decide whether you need a cabinet at all.
The Vaultek DS2e Smart Station Essential is a low-profile nightstand drawer with a four-digit keypad, USB charging ports and an auto-open drawer for a pistol up to about 9 inches. It stores one handgun; the BBRKIN stores several long guns.
The Vaultek LifePod 20 Biometric is a portable weatherproof case with fingerprint, keypad and key access, sized for a full-size handgun. It suits travel and vehicle use rather than home long-gun storage.
The Fort Knox PB1 Pistol Box is a mechanical push-button pistol box with a 10 gauge steel body and a weight of about 22 pounds, so it has no batteries. It is a handgun product, not a rifle cabinet.
The SentrySafe Electronic Pistol Safe is a compact electronic pistol safe listed at roughly 12 by 10 by 3 inches. Again, handgun scale only. For a head-to-head view across sizes, browse the full gun safe reviews A to Z list.
Price and deals
At the time of writing the BBRKIN sat in the $200 to $300 range. Prices move, so check today’s number before you decide. We keep a separate BBRKIN 5-6 Gun Rifle Safe promo code page that explains when a clip coupon or sale event is worth waiting for, and the best gun safes under $300 guide shows what else sits in that price tier. You can also check today’s price on Amazon.
Final verdict
The BBRKIN is a reasonable pick for a household that wants an upright, keypad-controlled cabinet with room for scoped rifles, a small lock box and straightforward anchoring. Its weak spots are information gaps: no stated fire protection, steel gauge or battery type, and no owner summary to lean on. If those gaps do not bother you, and you will bolt it down and keep the backup key separate, it is a practical way to organize long guns. If you want proven build quality or fire protection, widen the search before buying.
Storage and child-access laws vary by state, so check the rules where you live. Our best gun safe pillar page has a broader overview of lock types, sizes and mounting options.
BBRKIN 5-6 Gun Rifle Safe FAQ
How long a rifle fits in the BBRKIN 5-6 gun safe?
The seller says it stores rifles and shotguns up to 50 inches, with or without scopes. The cabinet is 57 inches tall outside and 13 inches deep, so measure your longest gun and your scope’s depth before ordering.
What batteries does the BBRKIN rifle safe use?
The facts we reviewed do not name the battery type or expected life. Check the product information or manual on the Amazon listing, keep spares on hand, and remember the backup key if the keypad stops responding.
Can the BBRKIN rifle safe be bolted down?
Yes. The seller lists three pre-punched holes in the back and two in the bottom, with bolts attached, for wall or floor mounting or both. Anchor into studs or masonry because a tall cabinet can be top-heavy.
What happens if the keypad fails?
The seller describes a backup key as an alternative to the PIN code. Store that key away from the cabinet and confirm on the listing how many keys come with it. Also look for any battery guidance in the manual.
Does the BBRKIN come in other versions?
The listing title specifies the PIN Code Version with silent mode, and the facts we have show no variants. If you want a different lock style, check the Amazon page for options and confirm which one you are ordering.
Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

