Omethey In-Wall Safe Review – FindsCheaper

Omethey In-Wall Biometric Safe Review: Hidden Between Studs

The Omethey In-Wall Biometric Safe is a tall, narrow white steel safe designed to sit between wall studs, so most of it disappears into the wall and only a slim door shows. That makes it a different proposition from a nightstand box or a freestanding cabinet. It suits a homeowner who wants a long, hidden spot for long guns, documents and valuables, and who is ready to commit a stretch of wall to it. It is a poor fit for renters, for walls that are not framed on standard centers, or for anyone who needs a published fire rating. This review is based on the Amazon listing, bullets and brand description. No owner feedback summary was available when we checked, so we do not claim anything about how owners have fared.

Bottom line

  • Best for: a homeowner who wants a hidden, between-the-studs safe with fingerprint, code and key access and a dual alarm.
  • Skip it if: you rent, your studs are not on 16-inch centers, or you need a documented fire rating.
  • Check before buying: the fire wording on the listing, the interior size and the fourth unlock method, plus today’s price.

Specs at a glance

This table uses only what the listing states. Items it leaves out are flagged.

Item What the listing says
Product dimensions 5.12″ deep x 15.74″ wide x 53.15″ high
Fit Between studs on 16-inch centers
Lock type Biometric, plus password, emergency key and a fourth method (see below)
Material Alloy steel, powder coat, scratch-resistant finish
Locking 4 solid bolts on three sides, all-metal integrated door panel
Interior 3 adjustable shelves, magnetic gun support, key hook, LED light
Alarms Vibration alarm and wrong-password alarm, silent mode
Weight 41 pounds
In the box 2 emergency keys, emergency battery box, manual, 8 expansion screws
Fire rating, interior dimensions Not stated; check the listing

Access and lock

The seller lists four ways in. The first two are quick-access routes: a fingerprint, or a password, each followed by turning a knob. The third is an emergency key, again with the knob, described as the route for the first time you open it, a forgotten password or a dead battery. The fourth method is cut off in the listing data we have, so confirm on the page what it is.

The turn-knob step is worth understanding. The electronics release the latch, but you still have to physically turn the knob to open the door. That is a pleasant contrast to powered-open drawers, and it also means a fingerprint scan does not do all the work. Practice the sequence until it is automatic, because a fumbled knob is a common frustration with any electronic safe.

A fingerprint reader can fail on wet, cold or cut fingers, which is why you should enroll more than one finger and keep the password and key as real alternatives. Store the emergency keys outside the safe and away from children. The listing also does not say how many fingerprints the safe can hold, so ask before you plan around multiple users.

Build and security features

Here the listing is more specific than most. The seller describes four solid locking bolts on three sides, an all-metal integrated door panel and a powder coat finish. Those features suggest a more serious door than a thin cabinet, and the 41-pound weight and the fact that it sits inside a wall change the theft picture. A thief cannot simply carry it off, because it is built into the structure. They would have to pry or cut at it.

Even so, the listing gives no steel gauge and no third-party attack rating, so treat the seller’s wording about resisting hand or power tools as a claim. The alarm system is the other security feature. The vibration alarm triggers when the safe is shaken or moved, and an input-error alarm sounds after three wrong password attempts. The seller says the buzzer runs for 30 seconds. A silent mode lets you turn the beeps off, which is considerate for a bedroom wall, though you should check how silent mode affects the alarms.

The listing uses the word fireproof in a heading and a description, and the title also mentions waterproofing in places. We found no stated fire rating, temperature, duration or test standard in the facts. Without that, do not rely on it to protect papers or media in a house fire. Our best in-wall gun safes guide compares in-wall options with more detail on what to look for.

Interior and fit

The outside is 15.74 inches wide and 53.15 inches tall, but the listing does not give inside dimensions, which is what you need to know. Three adjustable shelves, a magnetic gun support, a key hook and an interior LED light are listed. The seller says it can hold documents, passports, jewelry, cash, medicines, family heirlooms, pistols, rifles and shotguns.

That is a broad list, so match it against your own gear. A 53-inch exterior height means that full-length rifles are unlikely to stand upright in it, and the 5.12-inch depth rules out anything bulky or scoped. If you want to store a specific long gun, get the interior height, width and depth from the listing images or the seller, and compare them with your firearm, scope and case. Shorter shotguns, carbines and handguns on the magnetic support are more plausible than a hunting rifle.

The adjustable shelves help for mixed use. You might put documents and valuables up top, a handgun on a middle shelf and a long gun along the side. Keep ammunition storage rules in mind and check your state’s requirements, because they vary.

Mounting and placement

This is a wall-mount safe made to fit between studs on 16-inch centers, with eight expansion screws included. That fit is the whole selling point, but it is also the biggest question mark. Many homes have studs on other spacings, and walls often hide electrical wiring, plumbing or ducts. Before you buy, confirm what is inside the wall you have in mind. Installation involves altering your wall, so follow the manufacturer’s manual, check your lease or local rules, and consider a qualified professional.

Think about location too. A hidden safe is only hidden if no one knows to look. A closet wall, a spot behind a door or a place where furniture can partly cover the front are common choices. Keep the keypad area free of dust and steam, and avoid places where a child can reach the door. Laws on storage and child access vary by state, so check yours.

Power and batteries

The safe is electronic, and an emergency battery box is included along with two emergency keys. The listing tells us the battery box exists but does not tell us the normal battery type, the number needed or the expected life. Check the manual for that, test the emergency battery box and the keys right after unboxing, and replace batteries on a schedule. Dead cells are the usual cause of lockouts, and an in-wall safe is harder to deal with than a portable box when something goes wrong.

What owners say

No owner feedback summary was available, and the listing is shown as having few reviews so far, so we will not make up themes. When you read comments yourself, look for:

  • How owners describe the install and how well the safe fit between their studs.
  • Whether the fingerprint reader and the knob feel reliable over time.
  • How loud the alarms are in practice, and how easy silent mode is to set.
  • The real interior size and what fit inside.
  • The quality of the door, finish and shelves on arrival.

No video was provided for this item, so lean on the listing images and the manual.

Pros and cons

What stands out

  • Fits between studs on 16-inch centers, with a slim profile.
  • Four locking bolts on three sides and an all-metal door panel.
  • Fingerprint, password and emergency key access, plus a fourth method.
  • Dual alarm and silent mode.
  • Three adjustable shelves, magnetic support and LED light.

Trade-offs

  • No fire rating despite the fireproof language.
  • Interior dimensions and steel gauge are not stated.
  • Needs the right stud spacing and a wall you can modify.
  • Depth of about 5 inches limits what fits.

How it compares

Most alternatives are portable handgun boxes, so they answer a simpler need. The Vaultek LifePod 20 review covers a polymer case with a keypad and keys that you can carry. The Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID is a steel nightstand box opened with an RFID tag or a key.

The StopBox USA is a battery-free mechanical combination box, and the Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault offers RFID, a code and a key in a bolt-down steel vault. Those suit someone who wants a safe on a shelf or in a drawer without opening a wall. Start with our best gun safes guide, or browse gun safe reviews A to Z for more.

Price and deals

At the time of writing the Omethey sat in the $100 to $200 range. Check the current price on the Amazon listing because it changes. Our Omethey In-Wall Biometric Safe promo code page explains coupon checks and seasonal sales.

Final verdict

The Omethey In-Wall Biometric Safe is a compelling idea at a modest price band: a hidden, bolted-in safe with real locking bolts, several access methods and a dual alarm. The main reasons to buy are the stud-to-stud fit, the multi-bolt door and the flexible interior. The main reasons to pause are the missing fire rating, the missing interior dimensions and the work of cutting into a wall. Verify those details first, measure what you plan to store and read the install guidance carefully. This is storage information only, and laws vary by state, so check yours.

Omethey In-Wall Biometric Safe FAQ

Does the Omethey in-wall safe fit between standard studs?

The seller says it fits between studs on 16-inch centers, and the exterior is 15.74 inches wide and 5.12 inches deep. Confirm your own stud spacing and check the wall for wiring, pipes or ducts before you buy, since installation alters the wall.

How do you open the Omethey in-wall biometric safe?

The listing describes fingerprint plus turning a knob, password plus turning the knob, and an emergency key plus the knob. A fourth method is cut off in our data, so check the listing. Practice all of them after setup so none is new in an emergency.

Is the Omethey in-wall safe fireproof?

The listing uses fireproof wording, but no fire rating, temperature or duration appears in the facts we have. Do not count on it to protect contents in a house fire unless you find a published rating on the page or in the manual.

What alarms does the Omethey safe have?

The seller describes a dual alarm: a vibration alarm when the safe is shaken or moved, and an alarm after three wrong password attempts, with a buzzer for 30 seconds. A silent mode is also listed, so check how it affects the alarms.

What is included with the Omethey in-wall safe?

The listing shows two emergency keys, an emergency battery box, an instruction manual and eight expansion screws. Battery type and interior dimensions are not stated, so check the manual and listing images before you plan what to store.

Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts