Marcree 8-10 Gun Safe Review – FindsCheaper

Marcree 8-10 Gun Safe Review: Budget Long Gun Cabinet

The Marcree 8-10 Gun Safe is a tall, wall- or floor-anchored cabinet sold for 8 to 10 rifles or shotguns plus four pistols, with a keypad, a built-in alarm and an emergency battery box. It sat in the $100 to $200 range at the time of writing, which makes it a budget route to organized long gun storage. Buy it if you have a modest collection and want adjustable racks, shelves and pistol pockets. Skip it if you need a stated fire rating, a documented steel gauge or biometric entry, since the listing provides none of those.

Bottom line:

  • About 52 inches tall, 17.7 wide and 15 deep, with adjustable racks, shelves, pistol pockets and LED lighting.
  • Keypad access with a 70 dB alarm after wrong attempts, a mute mode, two keys and an emergency battery box.
  • Anchor it with the supplied expansion screws; no fire rating or steel gauge is listed.

Specs from the listing

Spec Listing detail
Exterior size 14.96″ D x 17.71″ W x 51.96″ H
Capacity 0.22 cubic meters; seller says 8 to 10 long guns and 4 pistols
Material Carbon steel (seller text says reinforced alloy steel)
Lock type Electronic combination lock
Features Adjustable shelf, racks, pistol pouches, ammo bags, LED light
Mounting Wall mount, with floor option per seller
Included 2 keys, 4 expansion screws, emergency battery box, manual

The table mixes the specification field with seller text, and the two disagree on material wording, so confirm the details on the Amazon listing before ordering.

Access and lock

The main entry method is an electronic keypad. The seller says that after three incorrect password attempts or violent tampering, the cabinet sounds a loud 70 dB alarm. A mute mode is also listed, which is useful for a bedroom or hallway where you do not want beeps. Two emergency keys are included, along with an emergency battery box and cable that let you power the keypad if the internal batteries die.

A cabinet like this is only as good as its access plan. Set a code that is not a birthday or a household address, write down where the keys are stored (not in the cabinet and not where children can reach them), and test the emergency battery cable once. Decide what the alarm means in your household, too, so everyone knows what to do if a child or guest triggers it.

Build and security features

The listing describes reinforced steel with three thickened solid locking bolts and an embedded door structure aimed at forced-entry resistance. The seller also claims over 30% more space than standard cabinets, though that depends on what they compare against. No gauge, certification or fire or water rating is given, so treat this as locking storage, not a fire safe. The description makes strong claims about premium materials and rigorous testing, but it does not name a standard, so we do not repeat them as facts.

Real security with a cabinet of this height comes from anchoring. A freestanding steel cabinet that can be tipped or carried is much easier to defeat than one bolted to a wall and floor, so the included expansion screws are the most important part of the package.

Interior and fit

The seller says the cabinet stores 8 to 10 rifles or shotguns, 4 pistols, plus ammunition, magazines and accessories. The interior has adjustable gun racks, removable shelves, handgun pouches and ammo storage bags, with LED lighting to see inside. The exterior is 17.71 inches wide by 14.96 inches deep, so interior width will be a bit smaller, and eight to ten long guns will be a snug fit. Scoped rifles, fat stocks and tactical-style rifles take more room than a basic shotgun.

Interior dimensions are not given in the data we have. If you own scoped rifles or firearms with accessories, ask in the Q and A section for the interior clear width and height, and plan for the low end of the capacity range. Many buyers store fewer firearms than the maximum so each one can be reached without moving the others.

Mounting and placement

The package includes four expansion screws, an assembly manual and, per the seller, pre-drilled mounting holes that support wall or floor installation. At nearly 52 inches high, the cabinet is best placed in a closet or against a wall with studs or concrete behind it. Check the clearance for the door to swing open fully, and keep the keypad within easy reach.

The product title mentions that it is a gun cabinet for shotguns and rifles, and the Mounting Type field says wall mount. Plan to anchor both ways if possible, with at least one anchor into solid structure. A tall cabinet loaded with several rifles becomes top-heavy, which is another reason not to leave it unanchored.

Power and batteries

The listing does not give the keypad battery type or life. It does include an emergency battery box and cable. Read the manual for the internal battery requirement, and replace batteries on a schedule. The LED lights and alarm draw power too, so heavy use or frequent alarms may shorten battery life. Test the emergency cable with fresh batteries when you set up, and know where the box is stored.

What owners say

No owner feedback summary was available for this listing, and it has few reviews so far, so we will not make up themes. Look closely at comments about door alignment after mounting, how the racks hold rifles of different sizes, how loud the alarm is, whether the mute mode works as described and how easy support was to reach. The seller promises round-the-clock support and installation guidance; we cannot verify that, so see whether buyers mention it. Photos of a loaded cabinet are especially valuable. No video was provided for this model, so search for a walkthrough before buying.

Setting it up well

Plan the install in order. Pick the wall, mark studs, hold the cabinet in place with a level, and drill the pilot holes before you lift it into position. Anchor first, then load. Once it is bolted down, set the code, test the alarm and mute mode, try both keys and test the emergency battery cable. Then arrange the racks for your actual firearms instead of the maximum count, leaving a little space between barrels and stocks so nothing scratches or leans. Keep ammunition in the supplied bags or on the shelves, stored separately from the firearms where that fits your household rules, and review the layout every few months as your collection or your family changes.

Pros and cons

  • Pros: large stated capacity, adjustable racks and shelves, pistol pockets, keypad with alarm and mute mode, emergency battery box, two keys, LED light, mounting screws included.
  • Cons: no fire rating or steel gauge listed, interior dimensions not given, battery type not stated, capacity claims likely assume tight packing, keypad only with no biometric option.

How it compares

This is a long gun cabinet, so its closest alternatives in our library are handgun boxes that pair with it rather than replace it. The Vaultek LifePod 20 review covers a portable polymer case that holds a full-size handgun up to 9.25 inches. It suits travel and cars.

The Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID review looks at a spring-assist RFID box with 14-gauge steel and a security cable, good for bedside pistol access.

The Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault review covers a box with RFID, a code and a key, with predrilled holes for bolting down. The StopBox USA review covers a mechanical, battery-free option with 81 user-set combinations. If your priority is a bigger cabinet, compare listings in the best gun safe guide.

Price and deals

At the time of writing, the Marcree 8-10 sat in the $100 to $200 range. Check the current price on the Amazon page, and read the Marcree 8-10 promo code page for sale timing and coupon tips. Browse other models on Gun Safe Reviews A to Z.

Final verdict

The Marcree 8-10 is a reasonable budget cabinet for someone who wants organized, upright storage for several long guns, with an alarm and an emergency power route. It is not the pick for fire protection or a bigger collection, and the capacity claim deserves skepticism until you see interior measurements. Anchor it first, load it second and test every entry method. Child-access-prevention and storage laws vary by state, so check yours before choosing how to store firearms.

Marcree 8-10 Gun Safe FAQ

How many guns does the Marcree 8-10 hold?

The seller says 8 to 10 rifles or shotguns plus 4 pistols, along with ammunition and accessories. Scopes and wide stocks reduce that number, so plan on the low end and ask about interior width if you own scoped rifles.

How does the alarm work?

The seller says that after three incorrect password attempts or violent tampering, a loud 70 dB alarm sounds. A mute mode is also listed. Test both settings after installation so everyone in the home knows what to expect.

What if the keypad batteries die?

The package includes an emergency battery box and cable, plus two emergency keys. The internal battery type is not stated in the data we have, so check the manual and replace batteries on a schedule.

How do I mount it?

The listing includes four expansion screws and says pre-drilled holes support wall or floor installation. Use solid concrete or studs, because a tall, loaded cabinet can tip if it is not anchored.

Does the Marcree 8-10 have a fire rating?

No fire rating appears in the listing details we reviewed. The seller’s quality claims do not name a test standard, so treat it as locking storage and look elsewhere if fire protection matters.

Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts