Bonusall 12-15 Safe Review – FindsCheaper

Bonusall 12-15 Gun Rifle Safe Review: Roomy but Unrated

The Bonusall 12-15 Gun Rifle Safe is a tall, white steel cabinet aimed at households that need to store several long guns in one upright unit without spending safe-room money. It is a good candidate if you have a handful of rifles or shotguns, a spare wall to anchor it to, and a budget that sits in the $100 to $200 range at the time of writing. It is a poor candidate if you need a proven fire rating, a burglary-rated door, or a safe you can trust on seller claims alone. This review draws on the Amazon listing, the seller’s bullets and the product description. The owner feedback summary was empty when we checked, so we do not repeat any owner claims.

Bottom line

  • Best for: a first long-gun cabinet where capacity, adjustable racks and a digital keypad matter more than a rating.
  • Skip it if: you want a documented fire rating or a heavy, rated door for burglary protection.
  • Check before buying: the fire-resistance wording on the listing, the lock type, your anchoring surface and the current price.

Specs at a glance

The listing gives a short spec sheet, so most of this table comes from the seller’s bullets. Where a fact is not published, we say what to check.

Item What the listing says
Exterior size 15.2″ deep x 21″ wide x 55.2″ high
Color White
Long gun capacity (seller claim) 10 to 15 rifles, up to 51 inches long, with or without a scope
Interior layout Pegboards, 3 adjustable racks, adjustable shelf, 6 door pockets
Lock Digital keypad with touch-activated screen, 2 emergency keys
Door swing Opens to 145 degrees
Mounting Pre-drilled holes in the back and bottom, expansion screws included
Fire protection Described as fireproof in the title, but no rating or test is listed; check the listing
Steel thickness, weight, battery type Not stated in the facts we have; check the listing or ask the seller

Access and lock

The lock is a digital keypad. The seller describes touching the surface of the lock until the screen lights up, then entering your password to open the door. If the batteries run low, two emergency keys open the safe. There is also an admin code function that the seller pitches for keeping curious teenagers out, since only a trusted adult with the programmed code can open it.

One detail needs a closer look. The bullet heading calls the lock a biometric keypad, and the product type tags mention fingerprint, but the written description only walks through a code. Before you buy, check the listing images and Q&A to see whether there is an actual fingerprint reader. If it is a code-only lock, that is fine, but you should plan around a keypad rather than a thumb.

Whichever way it works, treat the keys as the real backup. Store them away from the safe, not on top of it, and never where kids can find them. Change the factory code on day one, avoid birthdays, and keep a record somewhere separate from the cabinet. The listing does not state the battery type or how many are needed, so confirm that before the first night you rely on it.

Build and security features

The seller says the cabinet uses an integrated locking system and a high-security, heavy-duty design. It does not tell us the gauge of the steel, the number of locking bolts or the hinge type. Without those facts, the honest read is that this is a household cabinet designed to keep children and casual access out of your long guns, not a secure vault.

The packaging is worth a mention because it is one of the few specific details. The seller says the safe ships with eight fixed metal sheets inside thicker packing material to keep it from taking damage in transit. That is a sensible approach for a tall, flat-faced cabinet, but still inspect the door alignment and the keypad on arrival and photograph any damage before you discard the box.

The listing title uses the word fireproof, which sounds like a claim worth checking. The facts we have show no fire rating, no temperature, no duration and no test standard. Because that information is absent, do not count on this cabinet to protect documents, ammunition or firearms in a house fire. If fire resistance is a priority, read our best fireproof gun safes guide and look for a safe that publishes its rating.

Interior and fit

This is where the Bonusall earns its keep. The seller says it holds 10 to 15 rifles up to 51 inches, with or without a scope, thanks to pegboards, three adjustable racks and six door pockets for handguns and accessories. An adjustable shelf is also listed. The outside measures 55.2 inches tall, which leaves only a little headroom above a 51-inch rifle, so a long barrel or a tall scope may feel snug. Measure your longest gun, scope included, and compare that to the interior depth the listing shows, because the outside depth is just 15.2 inches.

The 15 rifle claim is the upper end of the range. A realistic load with scoped rifles, thick stocks or magazines installed will be lower. Think about how you will actually arrange things: long guns in the racks, pistols in the door pockets, and any shelf space for cases, cleaning kits or paperwork. The listing even mentions storing bullets in the door pockets. Local rules on how ammunition and firearms should be stored can differ, and this review gives storage information only, so check what your state requires.

Foam or carpet lining is not described in the facts we have, so ask whether the interior will protect finishes and stocks from scratches, or plan to add your own protection.

Mounting and placement

A free-standing cabinet this tall can tip, especially once a door loaded with items swings open to 145 degrees. The pre-drilled holes in the back and the bottom plus the included expansion screws let you anchor to a wall or a floor. Anchoring into a stud or concrete is far better than into drywall, and the included expansion screws may or may not suit your material, so check whether you need different fasteners.

The wide door swing helps in a closet or corner because you can see and reach each gun. Leave clearance on the hinge side. Install and placement guidance varies by home, and the seller says the installation video indicates about 30 minutes for two people. The description also mentions that smaller four-gun cabinets exist that need no installation, which may suit a smaller collection better.

Picking a spot matters as much as picking the safe. Keep it out of sight of visitors, away from damp basements that could cause rust, and in a place where the keypad is not visible from a doorway. Many states have laws about storage and child access, and they vary, so check yours.

Power and batteries

The lock is electronic, and the seller says the two emergency keys open the safe if the batteries run down. That is about all the listing tells us. The battery type, count and expected life are not in the facts we have, and no AC adapter is mentioned. So plan to check the manual for battery type, test the keys when the cabinet arrives, and set a calendar reminder to swap the batteries once a year. Dead batteries are the most common reason electronic safes lock out their owners, and the keys are your insurance.

What owners say

No owner feedback summary was available when we wrote this, and the listing is moderately reviewed. We will not invent themes. When you read the customer comments yourself, focus on these points:

  • How well the rack layout fits their guns, and how many rifles fit in practice.
  • Whether the door, hinges and keypad arrived aligned and working.
  • The assembly experience, including time, parts and the quality of the manual.
  • Anything said about the actual fire protection, since none is documented.
  • How the keypad behaves over time, and how the batteries and keys have worked out.

There is no video attached to this item, so rely on the images and manual on the listing.

Pros and cons

What stands out

  • Large claimed capacity of 10 to 15 rifles up to 51 inches.
  • Adjustable racks and shelf plus six door pockets.
  • 145-degree door swing for easier loading.
  • Pre-drilled holes and expansion screws included for anchoring.
  • Two emergency keys for battery failure.

Trade-offs

  • No fire rating, steel gauge or certification in the listing.
  • Battery type and life not stated.
  • The lock description is ambiguous about fingerprint support.
  • Needs a wall or floor to anchor and assembly by two people.

How it compares

The alternatives in our database are handgun boxes, so they solve a different problem, but they are useful if your actual need is a pistol and not a rack of rifles. The Vaultek LifePod 20 review covers a portable polymer case with a keypad and keys. The Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID uses RFID tags and a key in a compact steel box.

If you want something mechanical, the StopBox USA uses a combination system with no batteries, and the Hornady RAPiD Safe Keypad Vault combines RFID, a code and a key in a freestanding or bolted vault. None of them hold long guns, so the Bonusall is the one to look at here for a rifle collection.

For help choosing, start with our best gun safes pillar page, read the fireproof gun safe guide, or browse gun safe reviews A to Z.

Price and deals

When we checked, the Bonusall was in the $100 to $200 range. That is a price band for a large cabinet, and Amazon prices move, so check the current price on the Amazon listing before you buy. We cover sale windows and coupon checks on our Bonusall 12-15 Gun Rifle Safe promo code page, so look there before paying full price.

Final verdict

The Bonusall 12-15 Gun Rifle Safe makes sense as an affordable, roomy cabinet for people who need to get several long guns out of closets and corners and behind a lock. Its strengths are the claimed capacity, adjustable layout, wide door and anchor-ready design. Its weaknesses are what the listing leaves out: a fire rating, steel thickness, battery details and certifications. If you buy it, anchor it, set a new code, test the emergency keys and treat it as a storage cabinet, not a fireproof vault. If you need protection from fire or serious attack, step up to a rated safe. This is storage information only, and laws vary by state, so check yours.

Bonusall 12-15 Gun Rifle Safe FAQ

How many rifles does the Bonusall 12-15 safe hold?

The seller says it holds 10 to 15 rifles up to 51 inches long, with or without a scope, using pegboards and three adjustable racks. Real capacity depends on scopes, stock shapes and how you arrange the racks, so expect fewer at the high end.

Is the Bonusall 12-15 gun safe fireproof?

The listing title says fireproof, but the facts we have show no fire rating, temperature or duration. Do not rely on it for fire protection unless you can find a published rating on the listing or in the manual. See our fireproof guide for rated options.

Can the Bonusall safe be bolted down?

Yes. The seller says there are pre-drilled holes in the back and the bottom, and expansion screws are included. Anchor into a stud or concrete where you can, and check whether the included screws suit your wall or floor.

What happens if the batteries die?

The seller says two emergency keys can open the safe when the batteries run low. The battery type and life are not stated in the facts we have, so check the manual, test the keys on arrival and keep them somewhere separate and out of reach of children.

Does the Bonusall 12-15 have a fingerprint reader?

The bullet heading says biometric keypad, but the description only explains entering a password after touching the lock surface. Check the listing images and questions to confirm whether a fingerprint reader exists, and plan around the code and keys in the meantime.

Concealed Handgun Carry is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. We research listings, manuals and owner feedback; we do not accept payment for placement. Prices, coupons and availability change, so check Amazon for the current details. Store firearms safely and follow your state’s storage laws.

Similar Posts